Antonios Onoufriou Leads Final 49 in Grand Event

The 2023 Malta Poker Festival (MPF) Autumn Edition €550 Grand Event powered by the Unibet DeepStack Open (USDO) has been a success by any measure with 1,444 entries creating a huge €693,120 prize pool to not only blast past the €500,000 guarantee but also set a new gold-standard for the festival.

The second day began with 361 players advancing from the seven opening flights but just 159 of them would finish in the money. It was a brutal finish for Nicolaj D’Antoni as he finished on the stone-cold bottle in 160th place when his cowboys failed to hold against Unibet Poker Qualifier William Johnstone’s queens.

Players began to hit the rail shortly after that and after ten blind levels of 50 minutes each, the Grand Event trimmed down to just 49 hopefuls entering the final day in hopes of winning this history event.

Cyprus’ Antonios Onoufriou (feature image) ended the day in the captain’s chair after earning a 4,645,000 stack for 77 big blinds to lead the way. Both Romania’s Paul-Vlad Craciunas (3,990,000) and Poland’s Kamil Skawinski (3,150,000) advanced with more than 3 million in chips whie Allan Arjut (2,625,000), Alessandro La Cava (2,385,000), Kjetil Hanstvedt (2,370,000), Salvatore Incardona (2,300,000), Robert Kontkanen (2,275,000), Dan Miron (2,220,000), Andreas Liperis (2,050,000), and Clausin Sanz (2,035,000) all bagged more than 2 million.

William “Nine-High Like a Boss” Kassouf wasn’t too far behind this pack with 1,910,000 while Guts Poker’s Jonathan Briscoe White (1,070,000), Junyu Liu (1,020,000), Samuel Biland (780,000), Mark Attard (680,000), and Thomas Harnes (480,000) were among the players on the lower-end of the totem pole of the chip counts.

Meanwhile, FLIP ambassador Ann-Roos Callens and Unibet Poker ambassador and The Chip Race co-host David Lappin both had deep runs only to go out during the final moments of the day for a €1,790 cash each.

The action is set to resume for the final day on Monday, Oct. 30 at 2 p.m. with blinds at 30,000/60,000 along with a 60,000 big blind ante and increase every hour.

David Lappin, Jonathan Briscoe White, & Ann-Roos Callens chilling on the bubble

Remaining Payouts

The remaining 49 players each locked up a €1,710 payday on Monday with the payjumps going up fast from there. Tomorrow’s winner will not only win a UDSO and MPF trophy but also are slated to go home with a whopping €140,000 top prize.

Check out all of the remaining payouts on the line on tomorrow’s final day:


Full Chip Counts Entering Final Day

PlacePlayerChipsBig Blinds
1Antonios Onoufriou4,645,00077
2Paul-Vlad Craciunas3,990,00067
3Kamil Skawinski3,150,00053
4Allan Arjut2,625,00044
5Alessandro La Cava2,385,00040
6Kjetil Hanstvedt2,370,00040
7Salvatore Incardona2,300,00038
8Robert Kontkanen2,275,00038
9Dan Miron2,220,00037
10Andreas Liperis2,050,00034
11Ciro Perna2,050,00034
12Clausin Sanz2,035,00034
13Damien Labaune1,955,00033
14William Kassouf1,910,00032
15Krasen Pendov1,785,00030
16Marko Cosic1,730,00029
17Gianluca Pagliaro1,710,00029
18Sebastian Mortensen1,660,00028
19Nidal Dawoud1,650,00028
20Alessandro D’Amore1,640,00027
21Patrick Schindler1,600,00027
22Sabatino Pascarella1,385,00023
23Marco Cipriani1,370,00023
24Leif Hetland1,175,00020
25Georgios Zachmanidis1,175,00020
26Dani Kass Gergi1,165,00019
27Jonathan Briscoe White1,070,00018
28Romain Nardin1,050,00018
29Lars-Magne Johansen1,045,00017
30Aladin Mrkaljevic1,045,00017
31Paul Theeman1,030,00017
32Junyu Liu1,020,00017
33Filippos Avramidis1,015,00017
34Giovanni Piccione900,00015
35Arthur Navellou870,00015
36Stig Eketrapp805,00013
37Soren Dalgaard785,00013
38Samuel Biland780,00013
39Ionut Dinu750,00013
40Flaviano Cammisuli720,00012
41Guilio Di Salvo715,00012
42Jake Allen700,00012
43Mark Attard680,00011
44Boro Skalonja620,00010
45Andrei Roman-Tamaduianu575,00010
46Markus Ganglbauer480,0008
47Thomas Harnes480,0008
48Fabian Bartuschk460,0008
49Giorgio Accardi295,0005

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *